History Posted August 6, 2014 Mill Creek was established in 1790 by Robert Campbell to provide sawn lumber for nearby Mackinac Island. Campbell also operated a farm, with hay fields, cattle and an extensive orchard. A gristmill was eventually added to the operation. In 1819 the mill and farm were purchased by wealthy Mackinac Island merchant Michael Dousman. He continued operations on the site through the 1830s. Abandoned and eventually forgotten, Mill Creek was rediscovered in 1972. After extensive archaeological work, the site opened in 1984. Today, visitors can watch the reconstructed sawmill in operation and explore the natural history of the site through trails, exhibits and naturalist programs. Click here to learn more about Historic Mill Creek Discovery Park’s history.